Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

The Big, Big Sky.

In an effort to get absolutely nothing achieved today I went for a long walk through the woods and fields near my house. In true, nerdy fashion I took a high-strung ruck-sack, a 'cag-in-bag', my ipod, a spare lens and a 3 week old bottle of half empty Oasis.

Because I was going on a little adventure I listened to folk music all way down towards the cliff. I had to stop on the way back up the hills though because my over-sized, robotic headphones were making my ears sweaty. I didn't even know your ears could get sweaty... but mine did.

I only met two people on my way. A pair of American cyclists who asked "why are you ears so sweaty you greasy freak?! Are you some sort of hobbit/centaur? I have a helmet on and my ears aren't sweaty." Nah... what really happened was that they asked me if I'd taken any good shots and I, having not spoken to anyone for two hours, jumped into some shpeel about the nice light. I saw their eyes glaze over.

My lesson for the day is that I can be a sweaty-eared bore. Better that than a cycling small-talker. Jeez.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.