Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Memorial Day

A day to remember...

~A visit to the graves of grandparents, relatives & friends

~Pause to consider the unique items left at Steve Prefontain's grave.

~This stone, pictured here, found on the grave of a stranger, but speaks of the tears shed over the years for all who were loved and have gone before us.

~Thanks to the soldiers who have defended our land and to those who paid with their lives for freedom.


This has not been a tradition for me, however, the past 5 years, my husband and I have made the journey to pick up his mother and take her to his father's grave to place flowers there and ponder. My own relatives are buried at the same location, so we took flowers to some of them as well. Then this morning, across town to the other cemetery where more grandparents and relatives are laid to rest. It felt peaceful to visit them. I'm grateful for the role they each played in my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.