Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Be Humankind.

A soap box moment:

The collision of the e-coli outbreak in Germany, and Oxfam's picnic today throw many questions into the melting pot of food globalisation.

British investors, amongst others, are buying vast tracts of Africa and South America to grow biofuel, to satiate the apetite for travel rather than food. This cannot be ethical.

Should I eat Spanish cucumbers, that are now thought not to be the cause of the e-coli outbreak, but are using up air miles, 0r should I eat Lincolnshire cucumbers grown in greenhouses that need to be heated all year round?

Should I eat Kenya grown green beans because they provide jobs for local workers who also get housing and education thrown in for good measure, or not, because the beans that don't grow straight are thrown away rather than sold off to the workers and local population?

Is it ethical to grow cash crops for rich Westerners when people close by live in slums like Kibera - Nairobi? Would I forego my morning coffee?

Can we ever solve the 'feed the world' factor when crops and land are global commodities?

Hear me scream ~ I DON'T KNOW ~

Thankfully, normal trivial 'Get Back to Me' Blips with a bit of banter will resume tomorrow

P.S. I learnt how to write on toast from a fellow blipper - sorry I can't remember who you are, but it's a well good trick. Write your message in water, before placing the slice in the toaster.

P.P.S. I usually have wholemeal bread, (of course!) But it doesn't work so well!

P.P.P.S I ate the 4 slices that didn't turn out so well with cucumber (of unknown origin) and Marmite (now a banned substance in Denmark) for my blipnic.

LOVE ME OR HATE ME. Anne x x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.