Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Westminster Abbey

A lovely day in London with my 'William and Kate' obsessed four year old. Firstly out of the tube at Picadilly to see Changing of the guard at Horseguards parade, great view. Then the same at Buckingham Palace, although we saw the soldiers and the band marching along the Mall there were too many people to see the actual ceremony.

After that we headed to the Royal Mews which at £8 for a whole years entry has to be good value for money. We tagged onto a guided tour and Carys listened intently and then asked me sensible questions after. I was very impressed as I was fairly sure she would lose interest quite quickly. She loved the car 'Kate' went to the big church in, and was disappointed that the coach they came back in was closed up as it has to be to preserve the leather. The best reaction though was her 'WOW' when she saw the coronation coach. An understandable reaction really as it does look like a gold coloured Cinderella style coach.

Picnic in St James's park which was meant to be my blip, but I forgot. Then she wanted to see the Church so we walked along to Westminster Abbey, but I am afraid at £16 entry I declined to go in. We walked back along past the Cenotaph and Downing Street and up to Covent Garden Tube.

Now anyone who knows London knows that that is a fair old bit of walking, particularly when you are four. But she is fantastic and didn't complain at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.