Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Transparent

Lord, help me to be uncomplicated, transparent, and curious like a little child. Help me be brave and to laugh immediately when something is funny, to say 'no' in a heartbeat when I disagree, and to mean what I say with the convictions of a tiny child.

Help me to twirl in the breeze on a sunny day without looking to see if anyone is watching, especially in my own back yard where it's nobody's business anyway.

If it's alright with You, I'd like to give you a whole bunch of things. I know they're not very nice things to give to someone you love, but You said I could, so, if you don't mind, I have wrapped them all up in a nice bundle for You so they'll be easy to haul away.

Here are my regrets, my tears, my poor decisions, my anger, bitterness and frustrations. Here are the lies I told when no one was looking and the home made clay I ground into my mother's carpet when I was in Jr. High and the watch I lost in gym class and all the things that made me feel so stupidly grown up sometimes. I've been jealous a few too many times and unkind too. I've been impatient and demanding and so so many more things. Could you let your gentle breeze of forgiveness blow over me and help me to see things through the eyes of a child again?

Thank You. I like You a lot.

Amen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.