Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Learning to fly

I wanted to get a picture of seagulls today and had the idea of taking one as if I was flying with them rather than on the ground looking up.

The easiest way to do this would be to fly but it's a skill I am still trying to master. Douglas Adams gave away the secret in one of his books as "There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." I am sure I will get it one day but so far I have totally failed to miss on every attempt.

Given that I can't fly (yet) and no one has bothered to invent an anti gravity device (yet). I will have to wait to get the exact shot I had in mind. For now I will have to make do with standing at the top of a cliff on a breeze day and waiting for a gull to come past at the right height.

I do wish the boffins would get on with inventing the important things though, Warp Drive, The teleport, rocket boots, that sort of thing instead of wasting their time on mobile phones and 3d TVs or life will never be like Star Trek promised me in the 1960s

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.