Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Campus Meadow

Today marks the half way point in my first blipfoto year. Six months ago, when I started, the days were short and a large proportion of my blips were taken on campus, as that's where I was during daylight hours.

In the past couple of months, I've been neglecting the place, preferring to take evening photos in the city centre, or on the moor when I get home. Today though I spent some of my lunch time seeing what the summer had brought to the university. The students had their end of year bash last Friday, so things have quietened down a bit now.

Two patches of meadow have been developed down by the Theatre in the Mill, next to West Brook. This makes a nice change from the usual parkland mowing regime, and is another part of our Bradford Ecoversity initiative. It brightens the place up to, and gives the bees in our campus hives something more to work with.

To mark my six months of blipping, I've updated my Blip Map once again. For those that haven't seen this, it's a simple hook up between Google Maps and the blipfoto entries, which enables me to tag the location of the photos to within a few yards. It takes a while to load up, but once in you can zoom in and out and explore. My blips are still very much clustered around two nodes in Bradford District, but I have a few more outliers now, from Glasgow in the north to Kingston in the south.

Thanks for everyone that's checked in over the past six months, especially to the core group of blipfoto regulars that offer encouraging comments, and to Peter Wilkin on Twitter, who has re-tweeted about ninety percent of my entries, and thus brought even more people to my blog.

when the grass ~ grows long ~ so too ~ do the flowers ~ summer meadow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.