Today's the day

By sheilwill

Lily

Today's the day .................. for a rare plant

Don't you just love this plant - it's so bizarre and exotic looking?! I knew you would want to know exactly what it was, so I have applied myself to a full half hour of google-searching - and this is the result.

I reckon it is a Lilium ciliatum - a rare native of the Turkish Black Sea coast. It grows to a height of about 2 feet and the flowers are a deep yellow, turkscap in shape and spotted in purple. Green filaments bearing orange-yellow anthers protrude. It will grow quite well here but it does need a year to settle. Half shade in a fertile, well-drained, leafy soil.

Hope you're impressed with the botanical language. I'm going now before a real botanist comes along and tells me it's a load of .................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.