Barn Range

I went back to Lacock to have another go at getting that elusive heron. I could see it wasn't at the spot where my memory card ran out, but as I got closer it sprang up from the underhang of the river and flew around the corner. I followed it and got a blurry picture of it taking off again and disappearing west.

I then went back and explored the river as it ran east below Lacock Abbey but although there were plenty of damsel flies, there was an absence of herons, kingfishers, swans or ducks there, although I did see a pair of herons flying across the fields and behind the Abbey.

Later in Lacock I found a couple of remnants from a recent scarecrow festival in the churchyard, and some novelty planters on the side of the road as I went to a spot by the ford to do some reading. I also checked the Avon again at Reybridge. It was looking beautiful in the early evening light but had only a few mallard on it.

As I drove up Naish Hill I noticed a large barn on my right, screened by trees, that I hadn't seen before, and pulled over. It is attached to Bowden Park Farm and lies to the north of Bowden Hill. It was built around 1800 and is still in use as a barn.

British Listed Buildings say this:
"Barn with L-plan attached stable and loft, c1800, rubble stone with stone slate roof and coped gables. Barn is large scale with 2 projecting hipped cart-entries each side, flush quoins and 3 tiers of vent loops. Lean-to between entries on south side. West end lean-to. Eleven-bay interior with double-purlin tie-beam-and-collar trusses. At east end, L-plan range has roof hipped at south end. Two storeys. Upper loading doors. Interrupted-tie-beam trusses."

Lens: Pentax 12-24mm

Day #434
Blip #432
Consecutive Blip #429

A Visit To Lacock, 2 June 2011 (Flickr album of 17 images)

Alternatives:
Reflections In The River, Lacock
Scarecrow
Novelty Planters
Reflections In The River, Reybridge
(all Sigma 70-300mm)

One Year Ago: Eve, Longstones Field

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.