My Angle

By myangle

Pelican

I took a drive down to WYnnum Harbour after work tonight. I actually openly photographed a man walking along the rock wall. When he came past I showed him the picture and we had a bit of a yarn. Most unlike me! Sadly the photos weren't what I was looking for.

My aim at the moment is to use my portrait lens at an aperture of f1.8 to squeeze the perspective on some of my pier shots. Just to mix things up a little.

Anyway, while I was experimenting a couple of pelicans flew by and this is the result. I am quite pleased because I had the camera set to manual focus. Mind you, it isn't hard to out perform the 350D's servo focus. It is probably the worst AF I have ever had on a camera.

This morning I caught the train from Wynnum rather than Manly. The distance to get there is negligable and Wynnum is in a different zone. That means that if I commute from there I will save money. No brainer. The thing is that Manly is quite an up market suburb and Wynnum is more working class. I have been getting used to sharing the platform with a few suits. Today at Wynnum I watched as a couple of young blokes use a can to create a crude pipe and smoke their first drugs for the day. I am out of the loop, sorry. 20 years ago I probably would have gone over and joined them but nowadays I find I am not even sure what the would be getting high on. Anyway, 5.30am is a bit early to get loaded.

Work is still desperately quiet. I think regular interest rate rises here have finally slowed the economy to the point where it will probably need to be kick started again. The fact that the banks have ignored the Reserve Bank's rises and raised their own rates by more has scared a lot of people. There have been a lot of layoffs at work. I am thinking it will pick up after Easter though. Nothing really happens in the first quarter of the year.

Our kitchen gets installed tomorrow. I was going to do a blip of the units all stacked in the bare room but didn't bother. The installer must be a bit of a Tetrus wiz to work it all out. The electricity should be connected tomorrow but the water and gas will have to wait till after the long weekend. I must say that I am very excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.