MyLifeinPics

By annahavana

In loving arms

Today was (particularly by recent standards) roasting hot. I even stupidly managed to get sunburn (which was nearly my blip but i was too ashamed of my stupidity).

This is Luke and his 'Nonna' (who isn't really his Granny, nor is she Italian: she is my mum's sister Helena who is like another Grandma to him, hence we've dubbed her Nonna).

I took this snap at about 6pm this evening, when the sun was still shining brightly on the clear waters of Loch Lomond. In my bid to keep Luke awake until bedtime Helena and I took Luke and his baby brother Sam to a tiny wee beach area near our house. I thought this shot captured the love, trust and bond that Luke and his Nonna have. She has endless patience and imagination when she plays with him. Just like when we were young (and she was our 'cool' Auntie who always let us stay up late, eat junk our parents wouldn't let us have etc) Helena encouraged Luke to come in paddling with her, ignoring my (up-tight) requests not to let him get wet or dirty. I realised how stupid I was being when I saw how much he was loving wading into the water, getting soaked and not giving a sh*t!

Helena has never married or had kids of her own but she would have been a great mum.
I feel blessed to have her, and my own wonderful Mum close by me and my boys to help share the highs and lows of parenthood with me and Nathan.

So, here's to Grannies and Nonnas everywhere. We salute you. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.