Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Tattie scones.....finally!

You're probably thinking, "this is just the ingredients" and you'd be right.

After a long day's work doing more unpacking and moving in, I was so hungry that I made the tattie scones and ate them before I thought to take a photo for my flickr account so you could see the finished product. Trust me, they were delicious!!!!

The funny thing is (some of you know I'm of Scots descent) that my mother made these when I was a child but she just called them potato cakes. Being a kid, I never paid much attention to how she concocted them. Later, when I started cooking for a family, I never thought to ask her ........ I would just pat cold mashed potatoes into patty shapes and heat them in butter in a hot frying pan. They were good, but weren't the same as my mother's. Still later, if i did ask, she was always a bit vague about how she made them. Why the secret I'll never know, as she was usually generous about sharing recipes and cooking hints.

So, imagine my surprise and delight when I sat down last evening with my tattie scones and one taste took me right back to my mother's kitchen!!

If you're wondering about the bread flour, I make a lot of bread and have discovered it works well for most things instead of all-purpose flour. I also keep cake flour just for cakes, so it is easier to have just two kinds of flour in the pantry instead of three.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.