wingpig

By wingpig

so very, very, very tired

Bleh. Insufficient insolation, drudgery and poor sleep (upstairs neighbour with clompyfeet) all take their toll. Somewhat less spring in my step than I like on the way home today (though it does mean that the stupid squeak the heel of my left trainer makes was a bit quieter) which I counteracted with a coffee, some book and as much relaxation as a bath which is eighteen inches too short can provide. Even a little water is relaxing; I need to start swimming again though every time I go after not going for a while I get a cold. I shall go upon return from holiday.

Two more sleeps until holiday. Must remember to take the booking number for the train tickets with me next time I plan to pass the station; it's probably near enough the time now for there to be no risk of the tickets being tidied away or otherwise misplaced before Tuesday. Must fish out rucksack and start filling it with all the little bits which are otherwise likely to be forgotten such as the travel adaptor and my old GCSE German textbook. Must find some form of map and get it onto my phone to minimise the appearance of being a tourist insofar as that will be possible when accompanied by that and my mother; they insist on lugging huge and garish haversacks with them everywhere they go and have developed a special method of holding them at the front so they can see all the zips and pockets (though not their trouser pockets, leaving them open to thieves) which is almost as attention-grabbing as map-wielding, mid-pavement Rough Guide-consulting or landmark-photography. Uh oh. Nicky acts almost normally but my sister opens doors with her elbows, doesn't touch railings with her hands and so on (works for the Tube and is paranoid about unsanitariness) and therefore sticks out a bit. Captain Yellowhat has been lightened about the pockets thrice on his various travels. My technique of frowning, walking quickly with my hands in my pockets and not gawping at landmarks in public squares (and generally acting as I do here) hopefully means no-one will try to steal from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.