The way I see it.

By christinePears

Carpet of Pink

My busy day started by going out for breakfast with my oldest son. He lives at my house when he works in Caithness and was returning to be with his family in Inverness. Hopefully he will soon get a move there himself or he will be homeless when I move! Lovely to have a good chat with him.

As the sun was shining I headed out to the garden to finish some of the bigger construction jobs. The midges came out but thankfully disappeared when a breeze got up and I worked out there happily for hours. I am determined to finish off the bank before I leave because I have this vision of how I want the garden to look and half finished is not what I want!

Went for an evening walk to Geiss farm river trail. It is the most amazing place and there have been 2.8Km of tails made through the woodland beside a stream and down to the river Thurso. There is a ruined distillery, remains of an old mill, picnic areas, bird boxes, a tree with a heron's nest, waterfall and big man-made pond. It is lovely the way they have opened it all up to the public although I never saw anybody else. This blip was taken walking back up by the stream as the evening sunlight shone through the trees and highlighted a breathtaking carpet of pink purslane.

A lovely way to end the day. Almost midsummer and there is still light in the sky at midnight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.