Holy Island Causeway at high tide

Ok, so today wasn't the best weather wise at all. Was down at Holy Island again, then Bamburgh and Seahouses and hardly even bothered to get the camera out the car, dull grey skies with no contrast, low tides it wasn't the most inspiring of days at all, in fact I was rather pissed off.

THEN, I hit upon the idea of heading to Holy Island when the tide as as it's highest and getting the causeway under water for a change as obviously, I've only ever been here at low tides! So, after leeching the freebie wifi at Berwick upon Tweed McDonalds I got the tide times and arrived at the causeway at the high tide time.

If you've never seen it, please do. It's remarkable to watch. The tide comes in so quick here. I was taking 30s exposures and had to run back twice to avoid wet feet and this was even after the tide had peaked. Perfect place for a long exposure, just wish I had more time at it and it was oh so cold there tonight after the shorts weather last night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.