Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Allotted Shift

Thanks to a planning application for 75 houses on the site adjacent to these allotments, I discovered their existence, less than a mile from my home. I had no idea they was there. I also had no idea we have slow worms in the area either, something else I discovered thanks to an ecological report attached to the application.

I intend to comment on the submission and will do so in the next day or two, but haven't decided whether on balance it is a good thing or bad. Two of the aspects I have decided on though. Firstly, the sketches showing both the density of proposed housing and its style are hideously inappropriate. Secondly the local area is very short of untouched open spaces such as this and we could do with keeping it.

Anyhow, back to the picture. This fella has got his work cut out, fending off local bird life and twitchy nosed rodents. This glorious weather is going to fry these veggies before long - perhaps he's going to need to take up rain dancing too??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.