Phoat'ies an' that...

By jemima13

Hero

Ross is an absolute hero.

He's my 17 year old wee brother and he's a fantastic runner - this is him 20 metres from winning the Balmoral Half Marathon today in a mere 78:59 minutes!

Ross runs 70 miles a week to train. He gets up before work and either swims or runs, and then does the same afterwards. For Ross, it's not about the winning, the medals, the glory...he simply loves to run.

I'm not sure I'll ever really get it - the whole running for ages just for the sake of it thing - but there's a part of me that wished I did. I mean, Ross wants to be a great distance runner, but I think it's more just so he can keep doing it, not to be the best.

(Though when I saw him bounding round the corner today, I couldn't help bursting with pride and taking a million photos...)

Mum always says that ever since Ross was little, he ran.

- and I can't imagine he'll ever stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.