My Angle

By myangle

Easter Bunny

The Easter Bunny flew into the Redcliffe Festival on a tandem parachute jump today. I wasn't game to join the crowd of kids that mobbed him(her?) after the landing on the beach. I had a rather amusing thought of the Bunny lying trampled on the beach after the kids had dispersed with their hands and mouths full of chocolate.

We went to the Redcliffe Festival today to watch the racing yachts go past at the beginning of the Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht Race. On the one hand it was great fun, but on the other there were thousands of people there and it was very hot today. Cool breezes and showers had been predicted. Boy did they get that wrong! There was a market along the foreshore, live music and of course the Easter Bunny. Half of Brisbane must have turned out!

We went with our friends Kathie and Brad and their toddler daughter Olivia. After the Easter Bunny debacle which involved sitting in the hot sun for nearly an hour waiting for his arrival, we went to the Redcliffe bathing pools for a swim. It was great except for the fact that I forgot my swimmers and had to take a dip in my shorts. Brad and I played with Olivia in the shallows until hunger took over and we all went for a spot of lunch.

There was actually a open pub serving food and they were also serving alcohol on the condition that a substantial meal was ordered. No problem there, we were all hungry. I had to laugh. Not once during the whole day was there a mention of the real reason for Easter. Seeing as how I am not in the least bit religious that suited me just fine. The bar sold booze but the pokie machines were switched off. So, it's ok to get drunk on Good Friday but not to gamble.

We got home mid-afternoon and I went for a quick forty winks. A day in the sun will do that to you. Tonight Jo and I are going to start filling the cupboards in the new kitchen. That should give us some room to move in the house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.