creative lenna

By creativelenna

beautiful dead things

what a title for a blip journal entry, huh? But it is true!
My husband found the butterfly when we were swimming at my parent's. It was floating in the pool.. At first Steven thought he might be rescuing it, but trufully it had since passed on. Immediately before swimming I had picked up hibiscus flowers where they had fallen on the ground. I could not help but notice how they had turned from bright red to a beautiful purple color as they fell and I thought perhaps of photographing them. They were on a small table and I asked Steven to please save the butterfly for me with the dead flowers I had gathered. Try this large . . . . the close up is pretty amazing!

When we were home at our house later, I saw again the spent blossoms of my small fragrant gardenia bush that I had blipped in memory of Molly. I picked a few off the bush . . . they looked so different, like toast or brown sugar, when they have finished blooming. I arranged both the hibiscus and the gardenia blooms with the butterfly for this strange but interesting still life.

I hope you enjoy, it was fulfilling for me to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.