Guardian

Drove back up to Edinburgh today, after a few days with the folks. I had a great time but I do worry about them, Mum's not well and Dad spends all his time caring for her. They're a long way from Edinburgh so it's not easy to just pop in, I really wish there was more I could do.

The drive home took six hours, way longer than usual. I stopped briefly at the Angel of the North, Antony Gormley's sculpture overlooking the A1 at Gateshead. It's a familiar sight. Traveling south it marks the start of the quicker, motorway roads. Heading north it means the windier, prettier roads are about to start. The sculpture was finished in 1998 & caused quite a bit of controversy, some of the local councillors were vociferous in their opposition to it. He's been up there 13 years now and is considered an icon!

Although it's called the Angel of the North, I always think of it as the Guardian, watching over the gateway that leads home.

I've backblipped a busy weekend;

Dishevelled - Friday 3rd
RLS - Saturday 4th
Day of Rest - Sunday 5th
Fixed??? - Monday 6th

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.