Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Borage Blossom on a Hot June Day

Another flower picture today. I don't have a very large garden but it is right outside our back door and since it changes every day, it seems like there are always potential photo subjects.
I use to grow a lot of borage in the garden I had in Mount Vernon, Washington. I planted it one year and since it reseeds so profusely, I never had to plant it again. When we would have company for dinner I would often add some of these blossoms to our salads. They have a very faint flavor somewhat similar to that of cucumbers.

This is my first borage plant since I've moved to Bloomington, Indiana. I planted it about a month ago and it has shot up rapidly to over a foot high. It's loaded with buds, this is the first one to open. When I grew it in Washington, I do remember that it use to attract a lot of bees. We'll see if it does the same here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.