Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Salvia guaranitica 'Black and Blue'

Another blue flower for another hot day. This is one of my favorite flowering plants, Salvia guaranitica 'Black and Blue.' I love blue flowers and this one is one of the most striking blues you will find in the flower kingdom. One of the things that makes this even more striking is that the sepals and stems are almost black, hence its name. Unfortunately this plant is not hardy in Indiana so it has to be replanted each year. But the good news is that it's a very fast grower. I planted mine a little over a month ago from a small start in a 4 inch pot. It has just produced its first two flowers. I grew this in my garden last year as well and I know that by September it will be loaded with blooms. An added bonus is that it also attracts hummingbirds and butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.