CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My second sighting

I took lots of pictures today, many of which might have qualified to appear here. Nothing stood out however.

After lunch, I started pulling up some weeds that had started to overrun the front path. Having started I couldn't stop until I pulled away some long grass from a big clump and saw this Tiger Moth. I quickly went to get my camera and was pleased that it hadn't flown away by the time I returned. I knelt over the gravel and tried to get a good angle but this was the best I could do.

You may ask how I know what kind of moth it is. For that I must thank Ashlea, who kindly identified it as a Tiger Moth the last time I saw one, at the other end of the garden. Take a look at Ashlea's journal, as she provides some wonderful images of natural history in her domain.

Its colouring is so beautiful and it has cheered my day. I know it is a different moth as the specific markings are very different, although the patterns were similar. I finally urged it to move, as I feared Bomble would also find it attractive, but only as a beast to attack and play with. It took off hesitantly, but then once it settled on the wind, it flapped steadily off round the back of the house and onto pastures new.

Now I have to get ready as I am hosting tonight's meeting of Stroud Preservation Trust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.