CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A good dose of colour

As I brewed a cup of Earl Grey tea this afternoon, I took a peek at the Aloe plant which is coming into flower. I have been planning when to Blip it as am not sure whether all the flowers on the one long stalk will peak at the same time. I doubt it. They are not there yet, but I had a go at photographing them as good practice.

The light was dull despite being in a south facing window. The sky was grey and getting darker prior to the obviously imminent rain. Sadly, as I forced myself into odd positions to get the best shot, I heard a crash of breaking glass, and realised I'd knocked over Helena's soap dish. She is away and i know she won't be pleased :o(

After clearing all the splinters from the floor, I thought the begonia looked attractive against the background of trees down the garden. I like the sets of double flowers it produces so prolifically, and bought it a month ago when it was tiny and I've been raising it in this dining room. The addition of these Purple Heart (Tradescantia pallida) cuttings, which I'm growing, was an afterthought. I haven't had one for many years and really wanted their pretty hairy purple coloured leaves, especially when they are outlined against the light j . It is another of those very generous plants that love to keep growing.

I seem to want a good dose of rich colour at the moment, perhaps because it is like a form of the old colour therapy that I used to get from dear Alice Howard, all those decades ago. Only a couple of friends of mine will know who I mean, as they would never forget her either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.