An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Talking to the moon

If one just looked at my blips for the past couple weeks without reading my commentary, they may think I was a Dallas Mavericks fan. This must be about the fifth blip that concerns the Mavs. In reality, I would like them to win but am more interested in the activities surround the game at the American Airlines Center than the game itself. So I promise this will be the last Mavericks related post because no matter what happens the rest of the playoffs, this is their last home game.

This morning, several of the parking lots surrounding the AAC, were filled with satellite dishes. We now take for granted that if we pay enough fees to our cable/dish provider we can get any event any place in the world. I remember as a child, sitting with my parents and watching a program where one reporter after another would be live from different world capitals. Places I had only heard about, I was watching LIVE. Oh my, that was exciting. Because we lived outside Chicago, we had access to many more channels than my family up in the sticks of Minnesota. But even we never expected to get every inning and every quarter and every period of every baseball, football, basketball and hockey game.

Now I can go to a local pub that has 40 or more TV screens each one shining out SPORTS!!!! And they even have a schedule posted so one can make sure they are seated in the right spot to watch their favorite team.

Well back to the satellite dishes. Here sits a security guy making sure no one steals the copper from the dishes. And by this time tomorrow, they will be packed up and driving to the next big event. Even big events that aren't that big.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.