An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Cheerleading Summer

School let out this week here in Texas and kids are already going to camp. Not the kind of camp I went to where we fished and swam and played and hiked. The camps that my generation started sending their kids HAD to have a speciific goal. Make you son the best football, basketball, baseball player he could be. If you have daughter, she goes to cheerleader or gymnastics camp. Of course, they may go to more than one.

Here high school girls are cheerleading their way through the Southern Methodist University campus on their way to the first class of the day. Bright and shining morning. As my mother would say "Full of piss and vinegar."

Ah to be young again. Or maybe not. High school was probably one of the worst times in my life and my folks didn't pressure me to day anything like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.