An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Debbie and voting

Here is Debbie, my wife. We have just finished early voting and riding home.

When I was a kid, they had ONE day to vote. Always on a Tuesday. Now we have weeks of early voting. We have vote by mail for any reason. And still we don't get many people to vote. The politicians in Texas say that illegal aliens from Mexico are a threat to steal or manipulate our election process. Seems sort of strange since so few who live here legally even care about voting. How can someone steal something that has been tossed aside? We went to the polls on a gorgeous Saturday afternoon. We were the only voters. Had been the only voters. The sports bar down the street had most of their patio seating filled. Maybe if we served Bud Lite with every vote, more people would show up.

On to a happier topic. As I said this is Debbie. She is slowly getting adjusted to her new electric assist bike. I hope that she continues to ride. I have had fun riding with her. She is very cautious. The first time she rode, she seemed not to fear much of anything. After falling once and near falling a second time, she has become overly concerned. It is a learning process for her and for me. I want her to excel. She wants to be proficient. I pray that we both get our wish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.