earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Don't run away ...

... I'm trying to blip you

Another beautiful evening, another eyeballs-out club run on the bike, some more great photos taken during a stop for a puncture, but these little guys get the vote today. I've been hoping to bump into this family again, for I suspected they wouldn't be too far away from where I last saw them when I blipped Almost Secret Kiss. What is so incredible is just how much these Canada Goose goslings have grown in just 4 weeks. It didn't seem possible ... until I watched them for a while, eating at an incredible rate. When I saw them the first time they were laying waste to a dandelion patch. I guess if you spend most of the day eating then you're going to put on weight pretty quickly.

It was a devil of a job to get a decent shot of them. Mum and Dad weren't terribly happy about me getting close, letting off a good hiss if I tried to get too near. This was as good as it got, but I really wanted to record the progress of this particular goose family. I understand that a pair like this mate for life. The way they look after their babies is very touching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.