earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Disorientation

For the second morning this week I walked to work along the canal without there being a breath of wind. This is very rare. I can't recall there being another occasion since we moved office some nine months ago - but then I hadn't got my blip eyes in until recently, and it might be that I just haven't noticed. You have to tune your eyes in to see reflections, but once you do focus in the right way, you are presented with a whole fresh view of your normal familiar sights and scenes.

I did actually find it a bit disorienting this morning, staring into the canal and seeing this huge depth of field. It did make me a little dizzy. So I wanted to try to capture that feeling in this blip. Freespiral has pointed out that there is a well known photographer who takes all his pictures upside down (although not that well known that she could remember his name!), and I think I can understand the inverted logic. It makes you look closer at the image. The mind does less filtering so you see what's there in more detail somehow.

A few years back I was standing on the summit of Penyghent in the Dales on a perfectly clear winter's day, and for some bizarre reason felt compelled to look at the view upside down by bending over and seeing the landscape through my legs. It appeared more vivid somehow. Features stood out more. I found myself noticing new detail. The effect was so incredible that I had everybody else up there doing the same thing. Must have been quite a sight! But all agreed that I was not imagining things. Go try it out for yourself!

Even more disorienting in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.