Life, a daring adventure!

By Citril

We work to become, not to acquire.

"We work to become, not to acquire." ~ Elbert Hubbard

Tonight was yet another milestone for me as I returned to work. I have to confess ... I forgot that this evening was my first shift back as I was sure next Tuesday was my first day back!

For those who don't know, I am support worker in homelessness and addictions ~ our building is the big one in the photo ~ 12 flats housing 22 individuals who had the misfortune of being homeless, many of them battling addictions too. I work for the social care branch of the Church of Scotland, and have been with them, on & off, for nigh on 18 years now.

It is just short of 9 months since I last worked a shift here, so I was a tad apprehensive and a wee bit emotional. I need not have worried though as my colleagues made it so easy to be there. I am what is classed as a Twilight Lone Worker ... sounds grand but all it means is that I work the third shift (evenings) and I work alone. Tonight though I was on with my fellow Twilighter, Donald ~ a true blessing as he had everything written down that I needed to refresh myself on ... and having lost 2 children, understood that I was nervous about facing colleagues and especially service users after our loss. We had a right good natter about church & society in general and the shift passed in no time! Though many service users were new faces, there were a couple of folk I've known for years ~ nowt much has changed!

So, back to normal? Hmmmm ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.