Life, a daring adventure!

By Citril

We are back in Argyll this weekend to attend the fete at my old primary school. I love to see our girls running around the grounds where I spent my early years in education. Dunbeg Primary School has always been a small country village primary ~ this building was originally opened in 1961 and has had extensions over the years as the population of Dunbeg grew. It now accommodates over 115 school children, and 20+ preschool nursery children. Today they celebrated being open 50 years.

I have so many fond memories of this school! On the whole the memories are good, despite some elements of bullying and struggles with shyness and lack of confidence. The teachers were excellent and I felt completely engaged by them. My favourites were, and always will be, Miss McVicar (my P2 teacher and now the head teacher) and Mrs Craven.

This is the school I would dearly love our children to be educated in. Don't get me wrong, Charis's school, Bun-sgoil Ghàidhlig Inbhir Nis, is phenominal ... but to do your learning here would be just as phenominal! But, what will be will be, I guess. If it is part of our path through life then doors will be opened.

I believe this photo shows Gramps (my Dad) and Niamh heading off to find Noni!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.