meanderbestofem

By Meandertall

45,000 years Old

Home from a 4 day trip to Northland. (back blips to come) It was raining for almost all of the 9 and a half hour drive. Not too many stops but I did have to visit the The Ancient Kauri Kingdom This is a staircase made from a log extracted from a swamp and yes the log is 45,000 years old. It was made from one third of a single log, It's 3.6 metres in diameter, and 5.1 metres tall. Growth ring counts the tree age at 1087 years. Crazy shit eh.

I was in awe of this item, more of it's story is on that link. It encapsulates much of the spirit of that part of our country to me. It is 20 something years since I've been up there and really , I was quite taken by the remote and unchanging feel of the place and the people. The staircase is a wonder. I didnt get to visit Tane Mahuta this trip largest living Kauri but this was certainly a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.