Nora Berghoff

By nberghoff

Easter Eggs Gone Wrong

Very wrong.

Why? If you want to know, keep reading...

This year I didn't really buy anything easter-ish (no chocolates etc), not even dye for easter eggs.

So, on Friday night, I thought I still wanted to dye some eggs, and I had that awesome idea of dyeing them naturally (I like to do things the "organic"way).

I knew that you could use red beet juice or cranberry juice etc. to dye eggs red (I wanted red). Due to the lack of beets and cranberries, I thought I could use Hibiscus flower tea (yummy, BTW). After all, the Hibiscus tea is a very deep red color, so I figured that this should work.

So I boiled the eggs and the tea together, and to ensure that the color would be very rich, I left the eggs in there overnight.

Well...when I took a look at them in the morning, it turned out that they had not turned red, oh no, but rather brown with blue and green hues to it!

These must be the ugliest easter eggs I have ever created, I think.

But they still taste good :-)

Next year, I will make sure to have red beet in the house.....

Happy Easter, everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.