Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

You Are My Sunshine

Spent most of the day writing, until I realised at about half six that it was sunny outside and I should probably make the most of it while it lasts. Headed up to the cut armed with bread for the ever-hungry citizens of the waterways.

Amidst the inevitable feeding frenzy, there was one cygnet paddling around looking a bit glum. Given that swans mate for life, the thought occurred that it might be the turmoil of unrequited adolescent love provoking the moodiness. He's definitely got that vacant look of self-pity going on. Seriously, look at him and tell me there's not at least a vague resemblance to Morrissey in mid-strop.

Any road, with that in mind, I've decided to go with a classic song of lovelorn yearning, as interpreted by Frank Turner.

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy, when skies are grey
You'll never know dear, how much I love you
Please don't take my sunshine away

The other night dear, as I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms
But when I awoke, dear, I was mistaken
And I hung my head, and cried

I'll always love you and make you happy,
If you will only say the same.
But if you leave me and love another,
You'll regret it all some day

You told me once, dear, you really loved me
And no one else could come between.
But now you've left me and love another;
You have shattered all my dreams

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy, when skies are grey
You'll never know dear, how much I love you
Please don't take my sunshine away

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.