today I ...

By BarbiesWorld

...'ve got mail:

YAY!

4 CDs and 2 DVDs of the New Model Army's 30th anniversary concerts in London. Where I haven't been, I saw the 2 nights of the anniversary shows the previous weekend in Cologne. One of the best concerts ever I saw (also if I'm saying that everytime I see them).

- - - - - - - can be skipped here if not interested in NMA or my blahblah - - - - - -

Funny thing: I heard their music at school times, these days the albums (well, cassettes) The Ghost of Cain (1986), Thunder and Consolation (1989) and Impurity (1990). As for facts I knew nothing about them neither how they looked. (And if I would have been scared these days...)
Then I lost track, at university there weren't too much people hearing 'indie music' (that was it was in these days) and until 2 years ago they were only a memory. I had these 3 old CDs from ebay but didn't knew they were actually making music new music.

2 years ago we were with our forest conservation/ climate change project at a very small but lovely festival collecting signatures. There was also NMA performing, I saw half of the show and was toally electrified by their energy. Many old songs to which all the lyrics were at once present in my head to sing/scream with the audience.

We asked all bands on beforehand via email if they would help us by telling their audience to pop in at our info booth. Somehow they didn't reply, forgot and came themselves after the show. We were all somehow intimidated and I guess there my career of making the 'Hey B., look there is a singer/ musician/ band, ask them to support us, go talk to them' fool of myself began.
(I'm abysmally shy when it comes to talk to strangers. Unfortunately nearly all my friends doesn't believe me because they see me as a person managing communcational situations well and just won't believe how dreadful I feel. I think I could never ever do the 100 strangers project! Anyway, that isn't the issue...)

The guys were great, signed the letters to politicians, talked a lot, them us use they pictures on our flyers and were so pleasant! Also last year Justin came over to sign another petition and painting one of the wooden orang-utans for support.
(I'm looking forward to backblip as now a full member, one day you'll find also these pictures in my journal.
And did I mention he's Mr Charming himself?!! No? Ok, then I won't do it in public...)

The sad thing about: back from the festivals each time I was very excited telling my co-workers or friends about but nearly all of them did ever hear of NMA. Doh!

Erm, sorry, been carried away, you see it had a deep impact on me :)

Music: I discovered they made brilliant albums in the last years and give amazingly powerful concerts (I saw a couple in the last 2 years, luckily they seem to like Germany as they come regularly). If you like their music: go, make it to the front line and get the thunderstorm!
Albums which were missing in the 102 best of list of BugJemm (the lady with the PINK NMA t-shirt! I envy her for that! ;P ) are in my opinion Eight and Today Is A Good Day.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

For the record: slow, nice, unproductive day at daylight times involving friends and tea. Too restless, discovered that I forgot my thyroid therapy for 2 weeks now because run out of pills (how, how, how stupid am I not noticing that on one day to the other???), maybe an explanation for feeling a bit awkward the last week... (Hopefully my friend C. won't read todays entry, as medic she would shout at me...)
Hopefully getting now a bit more productive at night time as I have ****** to do as ****** for ******* because of ********* but stupidly ********** which was ********.
Damn, sometimes it's not useful that real life interferes with virtual life... :)

Hope your weekend is good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.