"It is what it is; because it is"

This is my new saying. I find myself saying it to myself; to my students; to my friends.

I am slowly learning to let go of the things I can do nothing about. I do not need to 'own' these things. It is enough to give them back to people who can control them and to carry on with the things I can affect.

I had a really lousy night's sleep last night, but was up early for Mass.

Then home to have some lunch, before heading off to the beach with my dog. Cousteau and I don't go to the beach alone very often these days and I forgot how much I enjoy his company. When he's with other dogs he (quite rightly) goes off and plays with them. When it's just the two of us, he interacts with me a whole lot more. We threw sticks and generally fooled around.

It was peaceful. So peaceful. Whilst wandering, I realised that right at that moment, I was happy. So I hugged it to myself and cherished it. Cousteau wasn't much in the mood for splashing in the water. Maybe it was too chilly. I tried to get some photos of him with the sun behind him, but nothing came out right. So I left him to it and concentrated on this wee fella instead. He seemed happy enough.

Home now to a sleepy B (he's not feeling very well) and two content furkids.

I'm cooking a roast for tea. It's what I feel like. Might even do some Yorkshire puds if I can find a decent recipe for them.

Then a DVD and an early night. Then sleeeeeeep!

Night all.


Interestingly enough, Pio has assumed the very same position as he has in my 'Year ago' photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.