The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Hello Ducky

Back blip! No time yesterday to do a blip.

Had an absolutely amazing day at Slimbridge. My brother bought me a Work With A Warder day for my 40th birthday a couple of weeks back. Yesterday I got to do it. And despite the worst the great British weather could throw at us, it was a great day.

Somehow I managed to rope, Dawn, my fiancé into it!

The morning was spent learning about how they collect the eggs and the breeding programmes they have there. Learnt some freaky facts. Such as the way a chick forms in an egg. It's not like you and I, chicks form in separate parts, and come together towards the end. In fact the beak starts working before it attaches to the head. Quite freaky when you see it when the egg is being candled.

Also learnt that moorhen's are genocidal maniacs, but I will keep that for a future blip!

The heavens opened after lunch and we were on the verge of having to abandon the day, which would have been depressing, as were going to handle the birds in the afternoon. Luckily it cleared up, and we got to hold the ducklings and the goslings whilst Phoebe, our guide and the duck warden, gave them a worming solution.

Of course I got the clever duck of the group. Lured me into a false sense of security, placid as anything, and then erupted from my grasp when I was least expecting it!

I am holding a gosling in this photo. It was the warmest, cuddliest thing I have ever held!

Other photographs from the day.

Work With A Warder #2

Work With A Warder #3

Work With A Warder #4

Work With A Warder #5

It was a day that I will remember for a long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.