In passing

By passerby

Calcutta

This is my friend A. With whom I took a stroll around the city. The city that sleeps. The city that is so wide awake.

It was early afternoon when we moved out. The air was gusty. Tall trees swayed against a pale sky. A sky drenched of all colour. We walked our way to an open air coffee shop a few minutes from home. There was a gentle drizzle. I think there is joy drinking coffee in the rain. I think many people agreed on that too. There were people of all ages, sitting around the fern-fenced terrace. People sitting around the fountain. Animated in their words. Almost oblivious that it was a Monday afternoon. Perhaps a time for work.

That is what I like about Calcutta. The people never hesitate to celebrate. Taking time to be happy is always on their agenda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.