Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Just a perfect day...

'Twas our second wedding anniversary today, and we drove to St Andrews for lunch at The Seafood Restaurant. It was a beautiful day and the drive across the very green Fife countryside was pleasant.

The food (I had eaten there once before, and we had eaten in their other restuarant in St Monans earlier this year) is wonderful, equalled only by the stunning view to the beach and the sea, which is a main feature of this imaginative glass box.

It is difficult to pick out one thing, but my Shetland Scallops with cauliflower risotto, hazelnuts and an oil I can't recall the name of, was just perfect. Actually, everything was perfect, including the Pouilly Fume.

We had the traditional walk along the windy beach (that it was windy is also a St Andrews tradition).

"It's just a perfect day, I'm glad I spent it with you" as Lou Reed sang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.