Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Spanish Guitar

I was up early this morning doing some guitar practice. I am getting together with some friends this evening who have an informal little ensemble playing traditional music, and it feels like a bit of an audition. So I ran through some accompaniments to a selection of fiddle tunes I had recorded with someone else (rough recordings for practice purposes only - it's the best way to learn, in my view).

The guitar in this picture is one that I've had for about twenty years. It is a classical guitar made in Spain and is possibly the single most popular student model - an Admira Espana. Though not terribly expensive, it was sufficiently well made with woods that have mellowed and improved in sound over the years. I have three other guitars (one electric and two acoustics), but this is the one I pick up most often. With a wider neck than the other three, I find it the easiest to learn new tunes on. Its mellow sound is very nice but needs some amplification for playing live. Anyone who plays it comments on how good it sounds.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.