Metal gods

Last day of Sauna Open Air. I arrived to the festival area before 4 P.M. to see Queensrÿche. They were good but not great, in my opinion. Later on I saw most of Mokoma's performance. Anthrax vocalist Joey Belladonna had playd his actual "official" solo gig on the second stage the day before, but he also dropped by to perform on the small stage in the bar area on several days. After his Saturday's appearance he posed with me for a picture, which was nice.

The final performer of the day and the whole festival was probably the festival's main attraction to a lot of people, myself included. Judas Priest are on their farewell Epitaph Tour and they played for more than two hours, performing songs from each of their studio albums (at least from all the ones with Rob Halford as a vocalist). The gig was definitely one of the best I've seen. For example, at the beginning of the song "Hell Bent for Leather" vocalist Rob Halford made his trademark (re-)entrance by riding a Harley Davidson to the stage. More importantly, though, the musical performance was not upstaged by the visual gimmicks. At the moment is looks like this was their last performance in Finland so I'm glad I got to see before they call it quits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.