Love Live Music

By lovelivemusic

The Beatles/1962-1966 Double Album on Red Vinyl

A wet rainy day in June, freezing cold - 10 degrees. Went out for lunch and then cooked some chocolate concrete cake with my son. An excellent wet afternoon activity. However I am returning to my Vinyl Blips and this is the second in the series more to come.....
When I showed this to my son he exclaimed "What is that?!".... "My son, this is Vinyl.....Red Vinyl...."
He had never seen anything like it before and wondered how it worked. We currently don't have a record player in the house so this is one of many albums sitting in my office waiting to see Action like they did in days gone by.

This particular album was given to my father by the head of EMI at the time. Dad was holding a sale at Abbey Road Studios called "The Sale of the Century" My Dad and Uncle hired out Abbey Road and sold a whole lot of Beatles Memorabilia/recording equipment including the recording desk that Sgt. Pepper was recorded on, various bits of Art and furniture that became household bits of furniture in our house like John Lennon's Egg Chair (Great for spinning at speed in) and Ringo's chair from his studio. They also sold off pieces of recording equipment that had been used by artists such as Mike Oldfield in making of Tubular Bells - Lot 59 - Mellotron
We had the Red and Blue Album in Vinyl and Sgt. Pepper's in Picture Disc. We thrashed these albums to death, playing them all the time.

Great pop songs (to say the least!), amazing writing that developed through these 3 albums in particular and I would choose which track to play depending on my mood - I was 13 when I first got my hands on them.

Right now I would play In my life - a good tune for Sunday afternoon:

Click here and sing along In my life

There are places I remember all my life,
Though some have changed,
Some forever, not for better,
Some have gone and some remain.

All these places had their moments,
with lovers and friends I still can recall,
Some are dead and some are living,
In my life I've loved them all.

But of all these friends and lovers,
There is no one compares with you,
And these mem'ries lose their meaning,
When I think of love as something new.

Though I know I;ll never lose affection,
For people and things that went before,
I know I'll often stop and think about them,
In my life I'll love you more.

Though I know I'll never lose affection,
For people and things that went before,
I know I'll often stop and think abut them.
In my life i'll love you more.
In my life I'll love you more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.