Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Before & After

Here, you see a "fruit stick" that has not yet been given to Charlie and Moses, next to one that they have stripped bare!

They LOVE these treats - although I'm going to limit them to one per week, since they need to have a balanced diet and will just eat the sweet treat stuff if they get the chance!

This morning was the first of their weekly "cage cleans". This isn't like the daily tidying up, fresh food, fresh water, removal of droppings and wiping of puddles that happens every morning, but is a complete clean up, wash down and replacement of bedding.

So, the Boys went into their travel carrier and I dismantled the cage and showered it in the bath. I allocated a "rat sponge, rat dishcloth, and rat towel" from our ample supplies of such things (I have a bit of a fetish for cloths, towels and so on), and washed everything thoroughly, throwing away old bedding and bits and pieces. I then put everything back together, and the boys went back in and spent a good half hour sniffing everything!

They seem very happy with their clean abode!

The rest of the day has been spent doing washing of clothes and things, watching last night's TV on the video, watching men with brushes sweep the F1 track in Montreal, and dozing on the sofa.

I've also made a tentative foray back into twitter. Just slowly though - I'm not going to get as involved as I did in the past - I maybe shouldn't count people as real friends until they've stood the test of time a bit longer than the bloke who has now blocked me did. Trouble is, that's not my way - I'm open, I'm me, and my default setting is to think the best of people, not the worst!

As the Wonderspouse says, that means I do lay myself open to getting hurt by those who have no regard for the feelings of others and use sites such as twitter for personal entertainment only and not for building real friendships, but it also means that I do make real friends there too.

In the meantime, I'm still in a very happy phase, since I have my lovely boys! They make me so very happy!

Bless their little whiskers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.