Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Musical Interlude

Another busy day today (they always seem to be either crazy busy, or days when I collapse and fall asleep - I suppose this is "normal" for a bipolar being such as me)!!!

A bit of general house sorting first thing and a while playing with the boys, then off to Scharwenka's for lunch. Activities with Scharwenka included a trip to Lidl, a visit to his neighbours (his neighbour is going to give me a printer that he no longer needs), moving the oven back into position using a jack on wheels (they've had it sitting in the middle of the kitchen for a while while Scharwenka mended the grill), sorting out calendars for the next week or so, and, of course, lunch and a cup of tea!

Then it was off to The Albion Beatnik bookshop in Oxford for one of the Wonderspouse's reading evenings. As usual, I ended up photographing the musical entertainment rather than the readers - this time music was provided by Susanna Starling (double bass & singing) and her beatboxer (whose name I never found out - he was just called "the beatboxer").

It was a highly successful evening. Some of the same people from Stoke Newington (June 4th) were there, along with a couple of extra people who hadn't been at Stokey. Also, Rebecca Woodhead read to us from her book - it was a delight to meet her as I've followed her almost from my earliest days on twitter - she was really lovely, and has a wonderful reading voice.

Then, finally, we came home. Some of the Lidl shopping stayed in the car as we were too tired to unload it. We watched the end of Terry Pratchett's programme about dying in Swiss clinics, and I became even more resolved to steal a Ferrari, pack it with explosives, and drive it off a very very high cliff when the time comes - vile liquids & a tiny bit of chocolate aren't really my style.

Then, tempting though it was to stay up all night partying with the boys, I went to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.