Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

From 18 Floors Up

My stepdaughter and husband have just moved into a new apartment in downtown Jacksonville. The Strand is a high rise block and could easily be taken for a four-star hotel rather than an apartment complex.

I sat out on the balcony for a while and took the opportunity to shoot from 18 floors up. Wildfires burning somewhere between Ponte Vedra and St Augustine caused a haze that gradually got worse as the afternoon progressed. Panoramic view shots must wait for a clearer day.

Looking over the balcony down at Riverplace Boulevard was looking at a Lilliputian version of Jacksonville. How's that for a swift reference? :-) And that is the shot for today.

Now I am going to watch TV and see if the Dallas Mavericks can beat Miami Heat to clinch the NBA Finals. My old loyalty to Dallas and Texas still persists. I don't think I will ever take to Jacksonville and Florida in the same way.

As the saying goes, "I wasn't born in Texas but I got here as soon as I could." Why, oh why did we leave? Answers on a postcard. :-)

B&W conversion in Silver Efex Pro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.