Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Haze Over College Street

Smoke from wildfires continues to hang over Jacksonville. With northerly winds, it is coming from fires in Georgia. The wind is expected to change in the next couple of days and blow from the south. Instead of Georgia's smoke we will get Florida's own. As of this morning, 429 wildfires are burning in Florida. A state of emergency was declared on Monday.

I shot this view along College Street at 10:45 am. The photo obviously does not convey the acrid taste of the smoke. The scene reminded me of foggy days in November back in Britain.

I also gave my Leica D-Lux 3 camera a run out, figuring I might need the 112mm zoom lens capability. I now know why I don't use this camera very often. It was impossible to read the aperture and shutter speed on the LCD screen. In the end, I just set the camera to Program mode in order to get an acceptable result.

B&W conversion in Silver Efex Pro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.