Paul by myself

By PJSHADOW

Evil tree.

Looking at it now I should have realised the evil tree was a sign that everything would not run to plan today. The ugly twisted branches reaching towards the boring grey sky sent a chill down my spine as I passed it on my way to work.

I have to admit though soon afterwards this portent of doom had slipped from my mind completely and I continued on my way.

Later on the working day was moving along nicely and I was looking forward to football at half five. It was to be our last game on the old pitches we've played on almost every Wednesday for the last few years before they get ripped up and replaced.

And then about 4pm the heavens opened and it rained like never before, I half expected to see Noah float past on his ark. "It'll pass soon" I thought, but it did not.

Football was cancelled! Never again would I hoof the ball clumsily out of play under absolutely no pressure on our beloved old pitches! Never again would I graze my knee after falling over the ball and spend the next few weeks picking bits of sand and gravel out of the wound!

Oh well we might have a different venue for next week. It won't be the same but it'll have to do I suppose.

Jim to go on The Apprentice! The luck of the Irish has just worn out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.