While on my runs

By waipushrink

Walking to work

Back home safely. We left Wellington not long before the start of Air NZ cancellations of flights. I believe that the cancellations were within, from and to the South Island, so maybe my flight back to Auckland was never likely to be cancelled. Even more problems for Christchurch, though.

Had to write a short opinion for a lawyer last night. Heard back late this afternoon that the recommendation I made (a new assessment by a psychologist) was accepted by the Court. So staying up late was worth it.

Up at my usual time this morning and out in the dark. As I went west along Great North Road I saw the moon somewhat obscured by clouds. What puzzled me was that the edge of the moon looked like a different phase of the lunar cycle, as I knew the moon was almost full. Didn't see any decent view so chose to not try for a shot, even though it crossed my mind that this might be an eclipse in progress. Well! Since found out it was. Never mind. Too late now.

As I finished my run and was "warming down" this was the view along Great North Road to the east. I have had to do a bit of work on the image; decreasing the shadow so the woman walking to walk could be seen, and increasing thenhighights and minor tweaking of colour to return it to what I remember seeing. The ubiquitious (I might think iniquitous) McDonalds restaurant can also be seen. Went there a few weeks back with the boys when we brought them back from their trip to see the beach house, and I found it very stressful talking to a machine which I barely understood and could not tell it what the boys wanted. Will not do that again.

Despite the minimal ash cloud this far north, the sky is affected by it.

Glad to be home again after a day at the office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.