Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Pretty Bird

Early blip today. I have a lot of dinners this week before I go.

I have always thought these birds were common sparrows until I saw one today that looked like it had blood on it. When I zoomed in with the 400mm, I realised the crest and chest were a fairly vivid red. This isn't one of them. I am not a bird expert, but this is either the male or the female and the red chest'crested one is the other.. Kinda neat how that stuff works out huh?

I was hoping some of the avid birdists would be able to tell me what kind of bird it is. I have no idea how to look those things up and no bird books. I know a lot of the names for the birds in Australia and Canada where I lived but this one is completely new to me.. It is VERY common here and as is often the case while blipping, People stared at the strange foreigner taking over a hundred pictures of such a common thing.

EDIT: cropped image

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.