Exploratory...

When I went round Europe on the railways with Shine, we didn't carry any guide books as we were travelling light. We found the best way to get a feel for a city that we were visiting was just to go out and effectively get lost. Just walk around with no specific destination in mind.

Edinburgh is great for that sort of thing. If you are not in any particular hurry or have particular pressing places to be as I found myself today, it's great for just walking around exploring it's nooks and crannys.

I had a couple of things to pick up but my only time restraint was that I got to the relevant shops before they closed for which I had plenty of time. The high Street seemed to be buzzing with activity. It probably always does but I'm not usually in a position to just take it in.

I found out today on my saunter, that 'Thistle Do Nicely' is no more. Gutted! I've never did or intended to buy anything there, I just appreciate imaginative shop names. Additionally on the Royal Mile, I noticed these flat brass cobble sized plates marking off random shaped areas, all over the place around the cobbled street. What's that all about?

-------------------------------------------

Notes on the Picture...
I actually took this photo a good few months ago but something else, possibly a more personal photo, came up on the day. I knew I would be passing down this way so I sought it out so it is now committed to my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.